Arrow Left Arrow Right
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Site Search

Rochester Philharmonic League presents Young Artists in Concert

June 23, 2014

For Immediate Release:  June 23, 2014
Media Contacts:  Sally Cohen, 585-749-1795, sally@sallycohenpr.com; Eileen Ramos, (585) 455-7723, emedramos@gmail.com
RPO Info:  rpo.org, facebook.com/SuperRPO, twitter.com/SuperRPO, rpo-land.blogspot.com
RPL Info:  rpo.org/yaa, rpl@rpo.org

Young Artists in Concert: A Celebration of Winners

Six YAA award winners to perform in free concert at Kilbourn Hall July 6

Rochester, NY – The Rochester Philharmonic League (RPL) will present its sixth annual Young Artists in Concert: A Celebration of Winners on Sunday, July 6 at 7:30 p.m. in Eastman School of Music’s Kilbourn Hall (26 Gibbs Street). The free concert will feature six talented award winners from the 2014 Young Artist Auditions: Philip Glick (trombone), Michelle Maginn (clarinet), Samantha Martin (soprano), Melanie Mashner (harp), Anders Namestnik (tenor) and David Steinhardt (guitar).  A reception in the Cominsky Promenade will follow the recital, which is sponsored by the RPL in cooperation with Summer@Eastman. The event will also be the opening of Eastman’s Music Horizons Summer Program for high school students.   

More about the Young Artist Auditions: The Rochester Philharmonic League has held and funded its annual Young Artist Auditions for high school musicians since 1955. This year’s competition, held at Eastman School of Music on Sunday, March 16, saw 42 talented 10th, 11th and 12th graders from nine counties compete for a total of $4,500 in cash awards and scholarships.

Five cash awards of $500 were offered for male vocalist, female vocalist, strings, piano and instrumental (woodwind, brass, percussion, harp or guitar). Two $1,000 scholarships were also offered for high school seniors who plan to major in music at an accredited college or university in the 2015–16 academic year. This year’s Special Award Winner, David Steinhardt, will perform with the RPO on July 24th at 7:30 p.m. at Temple B’rith Kodesh.

Here is a complete list of this year’s winners (name, instrument, school, private teacher and hometown):

Helen and George Greer Instrumental Award ($500)
Winner:  David Steinhardt, Guitar, Pittsford Mendon High School, Peter Kodzas, Pittsford
Runner-up:  Melanie Mashner, Harp, Brighton High School, Grace Wong, Brighton
Honorable Mentions: Philip Glick, Trombone, Victor Senior High School, Mark Kellogg, Victor; Michelle Maginn, Clarinet, Livonia Central School, Andrew Lawton, Conesus

Mildred and Julius Ness Award for Pianists ($500)
Winner:  Jason Gan, Piano, The Harley School, Elier Suarez, Pittsford
Runner-up:  Helen Wong, Piano, Webster Schroeder High School, Patricia Hanson, Webster

Ruth and Sidney Salzman Award for Strings ($500)
Winner:  Annie Jacobs-Perkins, Cello, Pittsford Mendon High School, Kathleen Kemp, Pittsford
Runner-up:  Teagan Faran, Violin, Williamsville East High School, Thomas Halpin, East Amherst

Nobel Hirsh Award for Male Vocalists ($500)
Winner:  Anders Namestnik, Tenor, Canandaigua Academy, Riki Connaughton, Canandaigua
Runner-up:  Paul Fasy, Baritone, Greece Arcadia High School, Judith Ranaletta, Rochester (Greece)
Honorable Mention: Joe Gutberlet, Baritone, Churchville Chili High School, Steve Cortese, North Chili

Tessa Martin Award for Female Vocalists ($500)
Winner:  Samantha Martin, Soprano, Penfield High School, Kathryn Cowdrick Swenson, Fairport
Runner-up:  Hannah Jackel-Dewhurst, Soprano, Brighton High School, Susanna Adams, Brighton
Honorable Mentions:  Lydia Brown, Soprano, The Harley School, Susanna Adams, Brighton; Melanie McBride, Soprano, Wayne Central High School, Susanna Adams, Macedon

Aldridge-Tinker Scholarship for Instrumentalists ($1000 to a senior who plans to major in music in college)
Winner:  Annie Jacobs-Perkins, Cello, Pittsford Mendon High School, Kathleen Kemp, Pittsford

Jan DeGaetani Scholarship for Vocalists ($1000 to a senior who plans to major in music in college)
Winner: Anders Namestnik, Tenor, Canandaigua Academy, Riki Connaughton, Canandaigua

Special Award (an opportunity to audition to perform with the RPO)
Winner:  David Steinhardt, Guitar, Pittsford Mendon High School, Peter Kodzas, Pittsford

“Many of this competition’s winners have gone on to highly successful careers as performers, music educators, and professionals in other music-related fields,” says RPL President Carol Shulman. “We’re very proud to support our area’s young people in their musical pursuits.”

The Rochester Philharmonic League (RPL) was founded in 1929 as a volunteer support group for the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra.  For more than 80 years, the two organizations have collaborated to further their common goal of providing great music and music education in the greater Rochester community. The League’s current activities focus on educating young people about music and the RPO, and on fostering the advancement of music talent in the community’s youth.  

The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra has been committed to enriching and inspiring our community through the art of music since its founding in 1922. The RPO presents up to 150 concerts a year, serving nearly 200,000 people through ticketed events, education and community engagement activities, and concerts in schools and community centers throughout the region. Notable former music directors include Eugene Goossens, José Iturbi, Erich Leinsdorf, David Zinman, and Conductor Laureate Christopher Seaman; Principal Pops Conductor Jeff Tyzik has earned a national reputation for excellence in pops programming during his 20-year tenure with the RPO. With Michael Butterman as Principal Conductor for Education and Outreach (The Louise and Henry Epstein Family Chair) – the first position of its kind in the country – the RPO reaches 14,000 children through its specific programs for school-aged children. The RPO's 2013-14 season highlights included Principal Pops Conductor Jeff Tyzik's 20th anniversary celebration, and a performance at Carnegie Hall on May 7, 2014, as part of the Spring For Music festival.

Media please note: 
Images of all 2014 YAA winners are available at https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B8FkJzlaIpThbHVjVjVhNnJ5Y3M&usp=sharing, and photo, footage and interview opportunities can be arranged. Find out more at rpo.org/RPL.



« Go Back

News and Notes

Connect with the RPO






Meet Our Musicians